Coxe Reel find...

ORCA Online Forum - Feel free to talk or ask about ALL kinds of old tackle here, with an emphasis on old reels!
morgan in new mexico
Big ORCA Fan

Coxe Reel find...

Post by morgan in new mexico »

Bought a bunch of antiques off ebay (mostly womens jewely and purses) and the seller included an old reel as part of the lot. Here's what I got. It is a Coxe reel, star drag with an unusual free-spool catch attached to the drag. Says J.A. Coxe 218 E. 25 ST L.A. CAL MAKER PAT. 5-27-24. Came with the leather case. The measurements are 4 1/4 wide by 5 1/5 in diameter. This reel other than a little dust is in unbelievable condition. Everything seems to work very well from what I can tell.

What is this? I know Penn, Fin-nors, and several other big game reels but I have limited knowledge of Coxe Reels. Thanks to all who reply.

wrong99
Star Board Poster

Re: Coxe Reel find...

Post by wrong99 »

First, I would use the "Advanced Search" feature above, where you will find a ton of information on Coxe reels. Nice find on your early Coxe reel.
Mark
kyreels
Super Board Poster

Post by kyreels »

Or if you don't know how to use the search just click this link: http://reeltalk.orcaonline.org/search.p ... mit=Search
Matt Wickham
Collector of Casting Weights, KY Reels and KY Tackle
morgan in new mexico
Big ORCA Fan

How do I search when I don't know what I have ? Size or model number .
Midway Tommy D
Star Board Poster

Post by Midway Tommy D »

Here are 3 pages on LA Coxe reels: search.php?keywords=la+coxe&terms=all&author=&sc=1&sf=all&sk=t&sd=d&sr=posts&st=0&ch=300&t=0&submit=Search If you sort through the threads & posts you are likely to find some pertinent info on your or a similar Coxe reel made in LA.
Love those Open Face Spinning Reels! (Especially ABU & ABU/Zebco)

Tom DeLong, NE
ORCA Member - 2027
wrong99
Star Board Poster

Post by wrong99 »