Need some reel ID help

ORCA Online Forum - Feel free to talk or ask about ALL kinds of old tackle here, with an emphasis on old reels!
spadej1
Advanced Board Poster

Need some reel ID help

Post by spadej1 »

Ok, I haven't had one of these in a while, so here goes! I picked this one up recently and am pretty sure its a JVH. I have the new book on JVH reels and can't find this one anywhere. A few close calls on a few, but no match. The ratcheting handle is almost certainly his, and it seems to be solid GS. Very nice coin edges on the end caps. Its in good shape save some etching in the HR. There is no hole in the foot, but that doesn't mean much. I'm sure this is an easy one for you experts, but I don't have a lot of Vom Hofe experience. Then again, maybe it's a Montague ;)

-James-
New to reel collecting so bear with me please. I like reel deals!
Brian F.
Star Board Poster

Re: Need some reel ID help

Post by Brian F. »

I'm not an expert but it looks a lot like an early Pflueger to me. They also used the ratcheting handle nut keeper.
Aloha
Brian F.
_________

ORCA Member 1997
Got a spare reel stamped "Pflueger" or a Montague Imperial?
"Caution, objects in reel view mirror are older than they appear."
spadej1
Advanced Board Poster

Post by spadej1 »

Yes that is another possibility. Lots of similarities to the reels in this thread:
http://reeltalk.orcaonline.org/viewtopi ... eel#p77332

The orientation of the click/screws and foot isn't the same but thats pretty close. I'm a little leary of opening it up at this point, but I imagine there could be the Pflueger witness marks inside. Maybe if I get some time and some courage I'll look at it. Thanks for the help!
-James-
john elder
Star Board Poster

Post by john elder »

I'm with Brian . Pflueger-ish foot and handle. Montague would second choice with JVH third, MHO.

ORCA member since 1999
Honorary Life Member