New to the Hobby

Someplace just to show that reel collectors do have a life
mtcm76
Big ORCA Fan

New to the Hobby

Post by mtcm76 »

Hi,
Very glad that I found this forum. I am new to the hobby of fishing reel collecting and restoration. I have been restoring antique radios for the past 15 years or so. I have gotten just a little burnt out on that hobby and was looking for something that interested me and something that I can work on. I love doing things with my hands so electronics and cleaning/repairing reels seems to satisfy that need.
I am originally from South Louisiana and have been fishing probably since the age of 5 or so. My first reel was a Zebco 202 at the age of 6. By my teenage years I was fishing with a Abu Garcia 5000 C which was given to me for Christmas by one of my Uncles. By the time I graduated from high school I was fishing with my dad's open face spinning reel that he had for some time. That was a Sears reel, either a JC Higgins or Ted Williams. It has been too long...just don't remember.
My interest is in spin cast reels because that was my dad's favorite type of reel. He really liked Shakespeare reels. When I started this hobby I knew very little (still know very little) and decided I wanted to specialize in Shakespeare spinning reels made in the US. Well I have been told that Shakespeare didn't start making these reels until the late 1950's and only through the late 1970's so I have expanded my interest to all spinning reels pre 1970. I currently have 8 reels. I have gone through 4 of them thus far. I have a Shakespeare 2052 and 2065. I have also gone through (cleaned and lubed) an Airex Spinster Model 4 and a DAM Quick Model 221. I have 4 reels that I still need to clean and lube. Two are Mitchell reels (300 and 308). I also have two identical reels made by the same company but with different markings on the side ( Luxor Pezon and Michel and a CRACK).