German Silver Reels

You got 'em, we know how to clean 'em
SC Fly Guy
Big ORCA Fan

German Silver Reels

Post by SC Fly Guy »

I'm new to the reel restoration game, but have been collecting over the last several years. After getting the ORCA Hanbook and purchasing my 3 year membership, I've started diving into the process. I'm really liking some of the old German Silver surf reels and have a few that I wanted to clean up. I found great tips on the site, but as a newbie I was a little hesitant. Here's 3 reels that I cleaned up over the last few days.

Gulf Free Spool
This came from an auction and needs a new handle knob, but that's a job for another day. It was in decent shape, but pretty dirty and loaded with about 200 yards of old line. I decided to give it a through cleaning. I've seen some really highly polished reels on the site and I thought I might try that. I am still a little uneasy about 'complete' disassembly so you'll see some areas where I tried to polish around some of the installed hardware. A couple of before shots ...

Here's what she looks like now ...

Cozzone
I got this from another successful auction. It was in pretty good shape with all parts complete. The spool knob on the handler side is a replacement. Other than that, it functions perfectly and I decided to give it a less aggressive polish. I followed the vinegar bath recipe listed by Bulldog (circa 2007). A few before shots ...

After a vinegar bath cleaning and some scrubbing.

Kingfisher Surf Reel