Lubricating Drag Washers

You got 'em, we know how to clean 'em
Mike Samford
Big ORCA Fan

Lubricating Drag Washers

Post by Mike Samford »

I am new to ORCA and this board, so bear with me. I've searched for the answer and not found it.
Perhaps it is so basic everyone assumes everyone already knows, but I am new to restoration too.
I have always heard (and done) that lubricants of any kind should not be applied to drag washers.
I am refurbishing an heirloom Penn 209, and never have been inside this particular reel, so was watching You Tube clip and a guy was smearing bearing grease on all his drag washer stack. I was shocked. What is the story on greasing (or oiling) drag washers, whether on level wind or spinning gear?
Thanks,
Mike
Tightlines666
Advanced Board Poster

Re: Lubricating Drag Washers

Post by Tightlines666 »

Leave asbestos, leather, cotton fiber, cork, silicon, Rubber, and all non-carbon fiber drag washers clean and dry.

Do not use petrolium-based oils, greases, or any organo phosphate solvents (that don't readily evaporate) on the carbon fiber, as it will deteriorate them. One notable exception is Penn's new DuraDrag washer (found on the newest gen lever drag reels), which have a bonding agent that can handle the 'Penn Blue' grease.

I recommend cleaning CF drags with a soft cloth, then a quick spray with a quickly evaporating solvent, such as brake or carb cleaner. After they dry, apply Cal's drag grease (either brown for most general applications, or purple for cold weather, or exclusive freshwater use). Wipe off excess grease for lever drags, or leave it thick (the excess will be squeezed out) for star drags.

Greasing with Cal's will smooth out the drag, give a more consistant performance over the curve, maintain good range when heated, and help with logevity/wear, and corrosion/water intrusion issues.

Hope that helps?

Head over to AlanTani.com for more info on servicing and refurbing reels. We have alot of knowlegable 'Penn guys' there.