Templar clean up and resto

You got 'em, we know how to clean 'em
Mike Franzen
Advanced Board Poster

Templar clean up and resto

Post by Mike Franzen »

First let me say I have the manual "Cleaning, Restoring and Repairing Antique Fishing Reels" and its full of great info.
I have a Templar 1420 1/2 that seems fine mechanically but needs to be cleaned to show the beauty of this reel. I want to be able to clean and restore a reel like I see some of the ORCA members do. I'm hoping I can get help taking this thing step by step through the process. I have never done a project like this before but I'll be a good student. I'm posting a few pics to give an idea where the reel is right now and I can post pics as we go. What is step one?
Midway Tommy D
Star Board Poster

Re: Templar clean up and resto

Post by Midway Tommy D »

You'll be an ol' pro by the time most of these guys get through guiding you along. I'm gonna answer the only step I know on this type of reel: #1 remove the old line. I'm done now and will just listen to the teachers and observe.
:)
john elder
Star Board Poster

Post by john elder »

Hey, Mike! Just go for it! If you follow the steps outlined in the book, you will be fine. If you have specific questions as you go along, just ask.

First order of business is, as tommy said, get that line off. If its linen and not rotten, you can save it. First two things you need...a digital camera and a set of good-fitting screwdrivers. Brownell's gunsmith set is good. If you have a bench grinder, you can also modify a standard driver to fit. Once you have a good fit in the side screws, go for it. Take pics all the way in and you will have a good record of the order of things when you put together again.
Mike Franzen
Advanced Board Poster

Post by Mike Franzen »