New to the game

Use this forum to share your stuff so round up your favorite reels! Questions can still go to the Reel Talk - General Forum
Jaybird1973
Big ORCA Fan

New to the game

Post by Jaybird1973 »

Well friends, I am new to the idea of collecting vintage fishing gear. My new passion was ignited by a friend who gave me a beautiful stainless version of the Shakespeare President model of the 1956 vintage. Shortly thereafter, I found a lot of seven reels for sale. I made the purchase and So far, I have been delighted. I paid $85 dollars for a bag containing seven reels. With a little research, I feel like I've done well. The standout reels I believe are a meisselbach Neptune, and a couple pflueger reels to include an early supreme, and a Norka. I also have a reel that I was calling a pennell. I understand now, that pennell was only a trademark. I do know that the reel also has a williams external drag. I would love a little help identifying the manufacturer of that reel. And, as long as I can figure out how, I'll include some pictures of that reel, and some others.
Last edited by Jaybird1973 on Sat Jun 17, 2017 6:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Jaybird1973
Big ORCA Fan

Re: New to the game

Post by Jaybird1973 »

Aaaand apparently I'm a little TOO new at this. The pictures don't seem to load. I'll try try one at a time.
Jaybird1973
Big ORCA Fan

Post by Jaybird1973 »

That seemed to work better. Here is a pic of the meisselbach. A beautiful work of mechanical art.
spadej1
Advanced Board Poster

Post by spadej1 »

Welcome and congratulations! You're wallet will never be the same... i'm still new to this myself, but your Pennell could be a Montague. I believe the Pflueger Williams drag was an add on available back then. Montague made a lot of reels in the early part of last century and the free spool was a common characteristic. Hopefully someone will correct me if I'm wrong, which I very well could be.
-James-