1919 Model Heddon 3-35

ORCA Online Forum - Feel free to talk or ask about ALL kinds of old tackle here, with an emphasis on old reels!
Reelman2
Advanced Board Poster

1919 Model Heddon 3-35

Post by Reelman2 »

This is a reel I bought on Lang's auction. It is engraved on the back plate and says Lou Williams 1919 Model. On the bottom of the plate it says W. M. Bill Apple. What looks like an arched big scratch from one side of the back plate to the other is actually part of the engraving. First of all, I have been told that Heddon didn't make this model until at least 1920 but I am no expert on the subject. Second, does anyone have any information about either of the two whose names appear on the reel. Third, I have always been confused about the handles with black knobs. Are they newer or older than the yellow-cream ones or was it just an option of that time period. I actually like the looks of the cream ones best. Perhaps Ron Gast or someone will chime in.
Last edited by Reelman2 on Wed May 08, 2019 8:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Collect mostly Ky style reels; Meek, Heddon, Horton, Pflueger Redifor and Worth, etc.

ORCA Member
Reelman2
Advanced Board Poster

Re: 1919 Model Heddon 3-35

Post by Reelman2 »

Well I seem to be having trouble getting my pics to come up. They all said file is too big. Can I get some help.
Collect mostly Ky style reels; Meek, Heddon, Horton, Pflueger Redifor and Worth, etc.

ORCA Member
Ron Mc
Star Board Poster

Post by Ron Mc »

do you have a photo viewer/editor on your computer? Software that came with your camera? Microsoft Paint? You should be able to resize your images there - I resize mine down to 1220 pixels wide before I upload to my internet photo server, which is close to the max width a computer screen will show.
The ORCA software takes over from there and automatically sizes them down to its bandwidth preference.