Handedness of fly reels

ORCA Online Forum - Feel free to talk or ask about ALL kinds of old tackle here, with an emphasis on old reels!
kevinhaney1
Advanced Board Poster

Handedness of fly reels

Post by kevinhaney1 »

First, let me state that I'm an extreme novice fly fisherman. I have a couple of reels from the 70s that reel with the right hand. I always thought this was standard for right handed folks, but I recently took a local fly fishing class and the instructor wanted me to put the reel on backwards and reel with the left hand. This feels unnatural to me, even though it makes theoretical sense since you don't have to switch hands when you hook a fish. Most pictures of old fly reels show them with a right hand wind. My questions is, has this always just been a matter of personal preference or was there once a standard for reeling with the right hand that's now changed to reeling with the left hand?

Kevin
Kevin Haney, Vintage Anglers
http://www.vintageanglers.com
Ray Hencken
Advanced Board Poster

Re: Handedness of fly reels

Post by Ray Hencken »

Reel with whatever hand feels most comfortable to you. Most early fly reels were right hand wind. However, with the arrival of spinning reels which are left hand wind when the rod is cast with the right hand, left hand wind fly reels became more frequently used by right handed fishermen.
I cast with my right hand and reel with my left hand. It is more comfortable for me and I can control the rod and the fish better that way.
john elder
Star Board Poster

Post by john elder »