Modern braided line

ORCA Online Forum - Feel free to talk or ask about ALL kinds of old tackle here, with an emphasis on old reels!
snubnose57
Frequent Board Poster

Modern braided line

Post by snubnose57 »

Picked up a broken spinning rod with a Martin fly reel, spooled with modern braided line, a strange fishing set up for sure.
I was wondering if I could use the modern braided line on a vintage direct drive bait casting reel?
Ron Mc
Star Board Poster

Re: Modern braided line

Post by Ron Mc »

I would avoid modern braided PE line because its hardness is going to wear everything in its path that isn't ceramic.

There are good soft braids out there - check ice fishing lines.

snubnose57
Frequent Board Poster

Post by snubnose57 »

Thanks will check it out.
Paul Roberts
Super Board Poster

Post by Paul Roberts »

I'm new to fishing with old DD bait-casters. The recommendations I've had suggest braided nylon. Concerns with PE braids are:
-They are so thin that loose loops can more easily get behind the spool.
-They have are so strong, and lacking the stretch of nylon, that they risk damaging older reel spools on strong hooks sets or when trying to free snags. Esp with the lighter duty reels.
-There is talk of PE braids digging down into spool of line, and causing abrupt cast stops. I've been using PE braids in modern casting reels since those braids came out, and have never had this be an issue. If I do develop loose line-lay while casting, I'm always sure to tighten things up before I cast again. This is just a habit. If I catch a large fish, I will pull out and re-lay that line. I'm bass fishing though so such tight spots in the spool don't go very deep.