How the Meek Blue Grass No. 4 cleaned up

Use this forum to share your stuff so round up your favorite reels! Questions can still go to the Reel Talk - General Forum
Farace
Frequent Board Poster

How the Meek Blue Grass No. 4 cleaned up

Post by Farace »

I thought I'd show how the Meek cleaned up. It was disassembled and soaked in vinegar/water, lightly relubed and reassembled. It spins well and looks a gazillion times better. Still, it's got some pinkness, it was obviously taken apart in the past since, while the screws aren't goobered, it's plain they've had a screwdriver in them. The screw holding the handle on, and the washer underneath it, are not original (and the handle is loose). The foot appears either to have been filed or is worn at the corners. There are some light plier marks on the end caps over the jewels. There is some blotchiness to the finish that would very likely polish out if someone wanted to. I'm far from an expert on these; it seems fairly decent, but certainly not pristine.

How it looked before I started:

How it ended up:

Opinions on value? I'd like to sell this to finance other fishing gear, and would be more inclined to sell it here before resorting to eBay. Apologies that some of the photos aren't more in focus. The camera seems to be having some trouble with autofocus, and there doesn't seem to be any provision for manual focusing. If you'd like to see any other angles or attempts to focus on particular spots, let me know.
john elder
Star Board Poster

Post by john elder »

Bob...looking good! As you say, that blotchiness should celan to better with a little serious rubbing in front of the TV. The biggest problem will be to find the original nut holding the handle and of course, that bites into the value...unless you are fortunate enough to have that part!
Ron Mc
Star Board Poster

Post by Ron Mc »

the pink is dealloying. It's going to be a surface layer that might polish away.