Anyone Ever Use an Automatic Fly Reel?

Share your fishing adventures, especially ones using antique tackle!
Teal
Ultra Board Poster

Anyone Ever Use an Automatic Fly Reel?

Post by Teal »

As I was digging through a pile of catalogs copying skeleton fly reels for our esteemed editor Richard Lodge's upcoming book on the subject, a thought occured to me (and not a very original one): there were a TON of Automatic fly reels.

I guess I never stopped to think too long about it, as I sort of always thought they were more of a 1900-1945 phenomenon, but I was seeing entire pages of automatics in standard trade catalogs in the 1950s and 1960s when there were almost NO traditional fly reels (other than a few Pfluegers and a couple of others).

Since I have never used one before, I thought I would ask if anyone out there had used an automatic for fishing. Aren't they awfully heavy and difficult to balance on a rod? Do they malfunction often? In the course of collecting I've probably had three dozen that came in tackle boxes, and it seems about half were non-functioning. Probably from being used by little kids, as we broke the only one my father had (got it as a gift) by winding it too tight.

I suppose any reel like a Martin that lasted as long as it did is a great success, but the only time we ever used them even as kids was when we would wind the thing tight and skip sunfish across the surface of the lake with its wicked fast pulling power. But considering how very many show up on eBay, lots and lots of people must have bought them.

So, anyone got any automatic fly reel fish stories? Bad Bob?

--Dr. Todd
Jack Bright
Advanced Board Poster

Automatic reels

Post by Jack Bright »

Todd- I used one for about three years, heavy ?, yes, but on a 9ft rod it
balanced well, BUT I Have never used one since I lost a Brown about 4lbs.
due to it rewinding the take-up spring, as you strip out more line to cast,