A morning in God's Country

Share your fishing adventures, especially ones using antique tackle!
Ron Mc
Star Board Poster

A morning in God's Country

Post by Ron Mc »

Last Sunday, I took my church fly fishing group out to fish my favorite water in TX. (we're not so bad, we go to Sat. Nite church)
I guess I had told many people - if you ever hear me say 55 Ranch, you don't want to miss it.
So, I took 13 of my closest and/or newest friends fishing.
I've been fishing this water for 35 years.
Three years ago, the county removed the the public right of way from all roads following or crossing the river
- they took 7 crossings away from us.
All is not lost.
One day when the constable ran us off, I headed straight to the basse block house on the hill (sorry, my camera
was dead when we dropped by at the end of the morning to thank our hosts - I wanted to show you the house).
The ranch was founded in 1855 (the Comanchees probably weren't very happy about it) and the house was built in 1912.
Marble block two story, full overhangs,
14-foot ceilings. No A/C - they're from here.
I told them what I just told you - I've been fishing here 35 years - I pick up garbage every time I show up.
He handed me his card and told me to call any time. But I use it as a trump card, because I don't want to abuse
this priviledge or the fish.
We drive through the gate and park by the river - far from the road where passers by won't suspect anything.
You know, I can't complain. If I could only keep one of those 7 crossings, this would be it.
People used to bring their barbecue grills and crap on their land.
The fishing has improved.
I caught 25 of his siblings today.
And everybody caught fish - many fish. I know they're small, but they live in the chutes and that gives them a
lot of fight on light tackle.
So when I was planning this trip and swapping e-mails with our host, here was her reply