New at restoration with a JVH 1/0

You got 'em, we know how to clean 'em
crowebeetle
Big ORCA Fan

New at restoration with a JVH 1/0

Post by crowebeetle »

Hi,

I recently purchased a JVH 1/0 and have a few basic questions. Given that I am new at this I am not 100% sure whether it is plated brass (I suspect it is) or NS thus do treatment options vary. I've read many of the posts on resto but it has never been explicit on the vinegar soak if the reel is to be disassembled first which I suspect it is. Since I have never done this before what can I expect during take down? Is this reel a complicated one that I would need a schematic?

Thanks in advance for your expertise and membership in this 12-step program.

Jim

john elder
Star Board Poster

Re: New at restoration with a JVH 1/0

Post by john elder »

Hi, Jim...I don't know how your post slipped through the cracks, but it didn't show up on my "new posts" page, so just now saw it! this reel is not complicated when you get it apart so you won't need a schematic, although it is never a bad idea to have the digital camera handy and take pics on the way in...that makes it easier when you put any reel back together. Watch out for those little star washers...they are hard to find...particularly if they end up in the carpet.

as you can see, most of the parts are plated brass. For me, a reel like this is a case of "it is what it is" and I would just give the whole thing a vinegar bath. this usually helps in getting the screws out without trashing them. However, if they are loose, you might go ahead and disassemble it before the bath. Sometimes the vinegar treatment will lighten (brown) the side plates, so some avoid treating them. I have found that Simichrome will darken the sideplates as well as clean the metal parts, so I usually just treat the whole reel.