Member profile: Michael Cacioppo

Post information about yourself and your collecting interests.
Richard Lodge
Super Board Poster

Member profile: Michael Cacioppo

Post by Richard Lodge »

A profile of reel collector and frequent Reel News contributor Mike Cacioppo

I've been a saltwater reel collector for about 15 years. How I got started is a strange story. I was liquidating some of my parents' estate on EBay and noticed that used fishing reels were trading like collector coins. I have been a fisherman all my life and had some old gear, so I tried selling it and the rest is history. Buying and selling fishing gear became a regular activity for me and it lead to a desire to learn more about the gear. One thing lead to another and here I am. ORCA and its members opened a new world for me. Over 2000 transactions on EBay, two books and over 20 articles in the Reel News make me wonder who I am talking about. Busy is my middle name, I work as a mechanic at American Airlines, have a family, am restoring an old Corvette, buy and sell on EBay, go to shows, research old saltwater fishing reels and the makers of them and even go fishing once in a while. In my spare time I look for spare time. Thank for listening.
bettybarr
Advanced Board Poster

Re: ORCA member profiles

Post by bettybarr »

Fascinating bio Mike! You are so productive you must not need much sleep. ORCA is fortunate to have you.
Reel Addictive
Advanced Board Poster

Post by Reel Addictive »

Nice job Mike.

I am not a Penn collector, but always enjoy your posts and articles.

Thanks for all your contributions and congrats on your book.

William
scottorock
Super Board Poster

Post by scottorock »

Giddy up, Mike! Great job! Now I gotta read what's in those binders!
Scott
john elder
Star Board Poster

Post by john elder »

Fantastic job, Mike on all counts!...and i think its making you look younger!
m3040c
Ultra Board Poster

Post by m3040c »