Member Profile: John Peschon

Post information about yourself and your collecting interests.
Tightlines666
Advanced Board Poster

Member Profile: John Peschon

Post by Tightlines666 »

History:

I first ran into the online ORCA forum shortly after it appeared online, and it sparked my interest in fishing reel history. I revisited periodically, and enjoyed reading the informative posts, and perusing EBAY listings throughout the mid to late 90s. Then I kinda lost touch until recently. About 4 years ago I ran accross the Alan Tani forum online, and became an active member. The Alan Tani Forum and crew gave me the confidence to start buying old reels, restoring/upgrading them, and then reselling them. Pretty soon, I graduated to repairing reels professionally. I starting a part-time reel repair buisness focusing on modern, large, offshore trolling reels (mostly 12/0&14/0 Senators and 80&130 Tiagras&Internationals) here in Hawaii, and with the help and support of the local fishing community, developed a strong sportsfishing, charter, and commercial offshore fishermen customer base. My part-time buisness has grown, and I have been servicing 100-150 reels/year here in HI for the last 3.5 years.

About a year ago, I met Mike C, Ted, Ray, Dom and a few other old Penn reel enthusiasts. After reading Mike's book(s) on Penn, I decided to start collecting. I began revisiting the ORCA reel talk forum, and became an ORCA member.

Since buying my first collectable reel, my reel collection had grown and contains mostly prewar Penns, OC, Pfluegers, and a few Mieselbachs, Coxe, trade reels, and others. I have been using my modest reel repair profits to fund my newly discovered hobby.

Personal Background:

I was born in MN and grew up fishing and hunting throughout the midwest, with occasional offshore trips with my dad and his fishing buddies to the Gulf of Mexico.