Dissolving old grease

You got 'em, we know how to clean 'em
kevinhaney1
Advanced Board Poster

Dissolving old grease

Post by kevinhaney1 »

If you have a reel that's 50-60 years old and it doesn't turn very freely, what is the best substance to soak it in to dissolve the old hardened grease in the gears? I can take the side plate off, but I don't what to completely dissemble it and clean each part individually. I need something that you can use indoors. I'm sure this has been covered before but since I'm a newbie to reel cleaning, I'll ask it again. Thanks in advance!

Kevin
Kevin Haney, Vintage Anglers
http://www.vintageanglers.com
Reeltyme

Re: Dissolving old grease

Post by Reeltyme »

Hello Kevin,
You’ll get a lot of different answers to this question, and all of them will be correct. I use “Greased Lightning” about $8 a gallon at most big box stores. So safe you could ALMOST drink it, but don’t! This stuff is absolutely great! An old coffee container filled enough to cover the reel. Let it soak over night, use an old toothbrush to get around the gears and such, rinse back in the solution and wipe it off with a cloth. Polish if desired and add new grease and oil. Done!
Good luck and have fun making an old into new!
Reeltyme
Randy McConnell
kevinhaney1
Advanced Board Poster

Post by kevinhaney1 »

Thanks Randy! Would you find that in the home cleaning supply section?
Reeltyme

Post by Reeltyme »

I get mine at our local Home Depot in the home cleaning isle. I’m sure you could get it at any of the box stores. I did forget to mention, try to remove as much of the old grease as you can scrape out with a screw driver and rag or something similar. It makes the final cleaning a little easier. The degreaser can be used several times before it becomes to dirty to reuse.
arley
Advanced Board Poster

Post by arley »