14/0 Kovalovsky Planetary Gears Video

Use this forum to share your stuff so round up your favorite reels! Questions can still go to the Reel Talk - General Forum
Deepfins791
Advanced Board Poster

14/0 Kovalovsky Planetary Gears Video

Post by Deepfins791 »

It is common knowledge among Kovalovsky reel collectors that Arthur put planetary gears in his rim control reels. Less known is what they actually looked like and what their purpose was. I learned why Arthur put them in his reels by studying Arthur and Oscar's patents. But not being mechanically wired, even after studying patent drawings and reading descriptions, I still struggled with how they actually worked. And the more I studied and read and stared at drawings, the more my head hurt. So my curiosity got the best of me, and I tore into a 14/0 Zane Grey Rim Control in my collection that needed cleaning, anyway. I wanted to actually SEE them work, and I decided to make a video of the process. The planetary gears are really quite a nifty piece of engineering and machining.

Also, included in the video is another style Kovalovsky brake I found in Lewis Kovalovsky's garage. It might be a prototype, or maybe just a high school project. Below is a link to the YouTube video. Watch in full HD, if possible. Enjoy! John

https://youtu.be/kajPmRtcS-U

P.S. Does anyone need a hand model?
Midway Tommy D
Star Board Poster

Re: 14/0 Kovalovsky Planetary Gears Video

Post by Midway Tommy D »

Wow, John! What a great video and superb look at the innards of a Kovalovsky reel! As a spinning reel fanatic, getting to peek at the inside of one of those big boys is a notable experience! Thank You! :bow:
Love those Open Face Spinning Reels! (Especially ABU & ABU/Zebco)

Tom DeLong, NE
ORCA Member - 2027
kyreels
Super Board Poster

Post by kyreels »