Complete Newbie in every facet of this topic

ORCA Online Forum - Feel free to talk or ask about ALL kinds of old tackle here, with an emphasis on old reels!
texbear
Big ORCA Fan

Complete Newbie in every facet of this topic

Post by texbear »

So here it goes,
Newbie here. I am interested in repairing reels as a hobby. I have no experience working on reels and would like to know how someone gets started. I have some mechanical ability as I have worked on cash registers, tinkered with dirt bikes and electro-mechanical devices. So here are my questions to start out.
Do you just find old reels at flea markets and start working on them?
Do you look for certain brands of reels to start the process of reel repair?
Are there books available that will give some direction for an ignorant newbie?
Am I even asking the right questions?
The one thing I have done is I purchased a J.C. Higgins reel to restore. I know it isn’t worth much but I just love the look of the reel and thought it would make a cool shelf decoration. So this will be my first step into the water.
Thanx for any and all info that will be shared
Texbear
Jonathan P. Kring
Super Board Poster

Re: Complete Newbie in every facet of this topic

Post by Jonathan P. Kring »

Books available in ORCA library on reel repair
Cast your cares upon the Lord. Psalm 55:22
Then He said to them, "follow Me and I will Make you fishers of men". Matthew 4:19
klonder
Advanced Board Poster

Post by klonder »

First, get a good set of screw drivers with hollow ground tips. The slots on many reel screws are sometimes really slim.
Buy reels where you can. Lots of web venues available. Maybe pick a style or particular maker you like an stay there at first.
It's easy to get overwhelmed with soo many reels afoot!
Mostly, enjoy!
texbear
Big ORCA Fan

Post by texbear »

Jonathan P. Kring wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 3:13 pm Books available in ORCA library on reel repair