Tony Dillender's miniature reels

ORCA Online Forum - Feel free to talk or ask about ALL kinds of old tackle here, with an emphasis on old reels!
meekfan
Big ORCA Fan

Tony Dillender's miniature reels

Post by meekfan »

I'm a newbie here and have learned a lot by reading your posts and from Betty and Don. To be honest I'm not a reel collector but love early tooling, fine machining and technology of all kinds. The late Tony Dillender was a good friend and I spent many pleasant hours working with him on my various model steam and stirling engine projects in his shop here in Lexington. I also remember the boxes of fishing reels that would arrive in the mail for him to work on. When I first met Tony he had recently retired from the University of Kentucky where he worked as an instrument maker/machinist for the College of Medicine. We were both in a Lexington metal workers' club that has since disbanded. In spite of inquiries I never knew what happened to Tony's tools and collection after he passed. You can imagine my surprise when I saw this set of his miniature reels at a nearby antique show recently. I had to have them in memory of my friend and remember seeing a set like this in his basement which he took to shows.

From Tony I first heard about Meek & Milam and the Kentucky-made fishing reels and recently had the privilege of a personal tour of the wonderful Crafting & Casting exhibit/collection in nearby Frankfort.

Now I'm looking for one of the Kentucky-made Hadden miniature reels if anyone has one to spare. Another on my wish list is a Meek & Milam no. 2 after having worked on one belonging to another friend of mine.
Brent
meekfan
Big ORCA Fan

Re: Tony Dillender's miniature reels

Post by meekfan »

Sorry I'm having trouble posting the photo. Trying again.
meekfan
Big ORCA Fan

Post by meekfan »

Mike N
Star Board Poster

Post by Mike N »

Very nice, Brent. Below are a few Dillender reels and a link to a similar discussion with some of Nick Hadden’s reels.