New Member from Oak Ridge, TN

Post information about yourself and your collecting interests.
Terry Battisti
Frequent Board Poster

New Member from Oak Ridge, TN

Post by Terry Battisti »

Hi All,

Well, I finally decided to join ORCA after years of enjoying this site as an outsider. My name is Terry Battisti and I have been a student of bass fishing for nearly 50 years. I started down my path in 1974 at the age of 10 and still have the first four custom rods I made that year - they are proof that you get better with experience. :-)

Regarding tackle, I have nearly every piece of tackle I have ever owned, which is saying something since I worked at a tackle shop from 1978 through 1988. Yes, I am a tackle junky.

As some of you might know, I own a website called the Bass Fishing Archives, which is dedicated to documenting the rich history of bass fishing from James A. Henshall's famous books to contemporary times. Being that I grew up in the early days of competitive bass fishing, a lot of the site has been dedicated to just that, competitive fishing.

Recently, a close friend of mine, Bill Sonnett, has infiltrated my mind and has gotten me excited about old baitcasting reels. Hence my joining this wonderful group of old reel aficionados. Bill, this is all your fault.

At this point in time, I am a sponge. I just want to learn all I can about the reels of the 1900s. Yes, the reels of the Kentucky watchmakers are important but I have to start somewhere and the 1900s reels are more my speed at this time.

What I am interested in are the Langley, Shakespeare, Pflueger, South Bend, and Coxe reels. I have an affinity for Langley because my old boss at the tackle store had a few of them around and he and the old timers would sit around and talk about how great they were. Since receiving a "starter kit" from Bill a couple months ago (Thank you Bill!), I currently have in my new collection:

3 Langley 310 Streamlite
2 Langley 350 Lakecast
1 Langley 330 Lurecast