Casting 1/16 oz lures with old Shimano Bantam 100EX

ORCA Online Forum - Feel free to talk or ask about ALL kinds of old tackle here, with an emphasis on old reels!
Reel Geezer
Ultra Board Poster

Casting 1/16 oz lures with old Shimano Bantam 100EX

Post by Reel Geezer »

Is there anyone around here that can explain to me how the addition of the plastic gear onto the spool of the Bantam 100EX and then engaging it with a gear that does nothing but rotate was supposed to make you able to cast lighter lures than a standard Bantam 100. What is the theory here? I'm no engineer or physicist, so I don't get it. Steve probably knows of an 1800s patent that covers the theory. Here are the insides of the Bantam 100EX - note the gear on the spool and the gear inside the rear plate.
obsolete link: oldreels.com/100EX-parts-01w.jpg

This has become more of an interest since I purchased a Shimano BM-7D reel (never came into production) last week that sure looks like it is a prototype of the 100EX. The method of engaging the gear in the rear plate is with a lever on the BM-7D, rather than a sliding button, and there are a few structural and cosmetic differences, but they are minor. Here is the BM-7D
obsolete link: oldreels.com/BM-7D-parts-03w.jpg
Last edited by kyreels on Wed Feb 07, 2024 2:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dr. Rob
Super Board Poster

Post by Dr. Rob »

Well, the two gears in mesh might provide just a little bit of rolling friction, thereby providing a very light casting brake? Less backlash?

Unfortunately, Shimano has approximately a million trillion patents. Kinda hard to leaf through.

That doesn't help you much... sorry.

Steve
Star Board Poster

Post by Steve »

Steve probably knows of an 1800s patent that covers the theory.
Dr. Rob
Super Board Poster

Post by Dr. Rob »

Wanna know something even funnier?

I made a reel with a transmission like that, as a gag. It was hell-fast, like 2000 RPM on the retrieve. Not sure where it is. Maybe I'll look for it tomorrow.